On May 20, 2021, Rhode Island Governor Dan McKee signed legislation into law raising the minimum wage in Rhode Island from $11.50 per hour to $15 per hour over four years. As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Rhode Island is now $12.25. The law includes additional increases of the minimum wage to $13 per hour on January 1, 2023; $14 per hour on January 1, 2024 and $15 per hour on January 1, 2025. The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training estimates that the new law will raise wages for approximately 70,000 workers by 2022 and 140,000 workers by 2025.
If you are one of those workers making less than $12.25 per hour as of January 1, 2022, make sure your employer knows about this change in the law. Remember, it is illegal for employers to retaliate or discipline you for standing up for your or other workers’ rights. If you are fired or otherwise punished for speaking out about minimum wage laws, or any other legal rights, you could have a claim against your employer. If your employer is not paying you the minimum wage of $12.25 per hour required by state law and/or retaliates against you for speaking up about the failure to pay proper minimum wages, please do not hesitate to contact us for a free consultation. According to a report published by the Center for Public Integrity in partnership with the Associated Press, wage theft is the costliest crime in the United States costing the country $15 billion in lost wages per year. That number is more than car thefts, burglaries, and other larcenies—combined! Wage theft is real. Do not let it happen to you.
Sinapi Law Associates, Ltd. has a proven track record over a period of nearly 40 years of protecting and vindicating the rights of workers. You can learn more about our employment law practice here. If you believe your employment law rights may have been violated, you can submit a request for a free case evaluation here or give us a call.