On May 20, 2021, Rhode Island Governor Dan McKee signed legislation into law raising the minimum wage in Rhode Island from $11.50 per hour to $15 per hour over four years. As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Rhode Island is now $12.25. The law includes additional increases of the minimum wage to $13 per hour on January 1, 2023; $14 per hour on January 1, 2024 and $15 per hour on January 1, 2025. The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training estimates that the new law will raise wages for approximately 70,000 workers by 2022 and 140,000 workers by 2025.
Our lawyers are experienced, relentless, and always ready to fight with our clients’ best interests in mind. Some of our recent notable Employment Law and Civil Rights victories, resulting in millions of dollars recovered for our clients, are listed here.
On May 20, 2021, Rhode Island joined a handful of other states gradually increasing their state minimum wage to $15.00 per hour. Gov. Dan McKee signed legislation set to increase Rhode Island’s minimum wage from the current $11.50 to $15.00 per hour by 2025.